New Work: Gender & Sexuality Expectations

Over the 5 week break between semesters, I began working on 5 new paintings with the goal of further defining the imagery and color scheme for a 4’x8′ participatory work that will be a part of MCAD’s Minnesota Mean student project.

This week, I sat down to analyze what these new works are communicating through a breakdown of a brand new arrangement of imagery:

Flaps
Knots/Bows
Curtains
Nails (physically hammered into the painting)
Black String (wrapped around the nails)
Genitalia
Stems/Fruit/Vegetable associations

WIP Clown
The predecessor for this new visual vocabulary, a WIP nicknamed “Clown”.

 

What I found in these elements is a complex language of finding a solution, an understanding, or feeling of being “whole” as a woman and a survivor of sexual violence. These paintings are a display of my conflicting ideas about gender and sexuality, through bodily associations, personal color symbolism, and attempts at tension versus acceptance, societal expectations versus self worth.

 

As I cut out and put the finishing touches on these works, I will continue to think about how these paintings function alongside or in contrast to the participatory pieces I’ve created, and what message specifically do I intend to communicate with my audience as I move forward.

Leave a Reply

